Testimonials

Whether French is your first language or you’re new to the language of Molière, here are some of the reasons uOttawa students say they chose to study in, or learn, French.


 

Hospital-ready

“I’ll be starting my first job as registered nurse at The Ottawa Hospital  after graduating with my BScN. Hopefully some travelling soon too!” - Rosalyn Glass - Bachelors of Science in Nursing @rosalynglass

 



 

stacey-olynick-green-house


A greenhouse for food security

“I will be volunteering with the Anicinape community of Kitcisakik to help them revitalize their food system by growing food and traditional medicinal plants in a greenhouse. I met members of this community through a community service learning activitywhich motivated me to write a thesis on using greenhouses in Indigenous communities to learn more about aboriginal practices and food security so that I could evaluate their project. For me, collaboration is key to bringing about positive changes in these communities. I provide resources and knowledge and in return, I gain knowledge of a subject area that is essential to the pursuit of my goals in the field of collaborative projects and the environment.” - Stacey Olynick, BA Environmental Studies and Geography, Alex Trebek Innovation and Challenge Fund bursary recipient.

 
_juliana_tpln_0

 

@juliana_tpln

I want to study in French to support the richness of bilingualism at our university as well as to encourage academic content and research in the social sciences.

 

 

 


 

_brankoomv_0

 

@brankoomv

French is awesome… I am taking all my classes in French and I’ve learnt about this great language. C’est époustouflant!

 

 

 


 

renaud_0

 

@soph.renaud

Studying in French, indeed French itself, is very important for me because it gives me a sense of identity. I’m proud to be Franco-Ontarian and proud of all the challenges we’ve overcome as Franco-Ontarians (especially Regulation 17!).

 

 



 

_colton100000_0

 

@colton100000

They say you always return to your first love. French was the first foreign language that I began to learn and the first thing in my life that came easily to me. That’s why I want to maintain and improve my language skills at the University of Ottawa for the next four years studying teaching French as a second language.

 

 



 

_caitrd_

 

@caitrd_

It’s important because it opens up so many opportunities!!! I have been able to use French while traveling, and it has definitely given me an advantage in the job hunt. I am in my final year of teachers college with a French teachable and the opportunities are endless!!! I love that I can connect and communicate with people who speak this language all over the world.

 

 


 

_rebecca_martin07

 

@rebecca_martin07

Because Canada is a bilingual country!! Learning French is a privilege and an asset and FUN!

 

 

 



 

@chantalprouse

 

@chantalprouse

I found it important to continue studying French because my mother, who is francophone, valued me learning French so much. She made sure I attended French schools and learnt it so that I could have opportunities in my future and be able to communicate with my Acadian family. I am proud to tell my family that even in university I am still able to study in French in Ontario even without leaving the province.

 


 

 

@davidnku

 

@davidnku

I’m an international student and I only knew how to speak French. The University of Ottawa had a reputation as one of the only large bilingual universities.

 

 

 


 

_itshns

 

@itshns

Learning French is important to me because as a Canadian I want to be able to know and speak both official languages of my country. In addition, learning French would help me in my career and when I travel to countries such as France, Switzerland, Luxembourg and even to Quebec I will be able to communicate with the locals.

 


 

 

_michdolla

 

@michdolla

Hi! I’m a grad student in ergothérapie – I grew up in Montreal and came to uOttawa to challenge myself (as my mother tongue is English) and I wanted to make sure I can one day treat my clients in their language of choice J Whether I end up working in Montreal or Ottawa, bilingualism is not only important to keep my doors open – but to always make sure I am communicating with my clients in the language they are most comfortable in.

 




 

_tristanlamonica

 

@Tristanlamonica

Studying at uOttawa in French not only gives me a competitive edge in the workplace, but helps further improve my reading and writing skills in both official languages. Additionally - studying in French means that I can continue to build my sense of belonging in the francophone community!


 


 

 

_rxseyyy

 

@rxseyyy

I’m from Montreal, and my mother tongue is French.  Being bilingual is what I’m most proud of. I’ve always wanted to study in a city other than my hometown, and knowing that at the University of Ottawa I could study in my two languages, my choice was made right away. Especially since my program (nutrition sciences) is only offered in French. I love living in an English-speaking (mainly bilingual) milieu.
 


 


 

_saif_elh

 

@saif_elh

Learning French, especially for non-French speakers opens up more opportunities career-wise and you can also make a whole set of new friends who speak the language!

 

 


 

 

_stevesangwa

 

@stevesangwa

Because it’s a romantic language, historical.

Top 5 Benefits of Studying in a Second Language TFO

Why FI

Back to top

Témoignages

Que le français soit votre langue maternelle ou que vous appreniez la langue de Molière, voici quelques raisons pour lesquelles les étudiants ont choisi d'étudier en français.

 

 

Prête à prodiguer les soins

« Après avoir obtenu mon baccalauréat en sciences infirmières, je suis prête à commencer ma carrière d’infirmière autorisée à l’Hôpital d’Ottawa . J’espère aussi pouvoir partir en voyage bientôt! »
– Rosalyn Glass, baccalauréat en sciences infirmières @rosalynglass

 


 

stacey-olynick-green-house

Une serre pour la sécurité alimentaire

« Je vais faire du bénévolat dans la communauté Anicinape de Kitcisakik pour participer à la revitalisation de leur système alimentaire par l’agriculture et la culture de plantes médicinales traditionnelles en serre. J’ai rencontré les membres de cette communauté lors d’une activité d’apprentissage par l’engagement communautaire, ce qui m’a motivée à faire une thèse sur l’utilisation des serres dans les communautés autochtones pour parfaire mes connaissances sur les pratiques autochtones et la sécurité alimentaire et être en mesure d’évaluer leur projet. Pour moi, la collaboration est la clef pour amener des changements positifs dans ces communautés. J’offre des ressources et des connaissances et en retour, je bonifie un apprentissage qui est essentiel à la poursuite de mes aspirations dans le domaine de l’environnement et des projets de collaboration. »
– Stacey Olynick, B.A. spécialisé bidisciplinaire en études de l’environnement et géographie, lauréate d’une bourse du Fonds Alex-Trebek pour l’innovation et le défi

 

_juliana_tpln_0

 

@juliana_tpln

Je tiens à étudier en français pour entretenir la richesse du bilinguisme dans notre université ainsi qu’encourager le contenu et la recherche académique dans les sciences sociales.

 

 


 

 

_brankoomv_0

 

@brankoomv

J’adore le français. Je suis tous mes cours en français pour en apprendre plus sur cette langue fascinante. C’est époustouflant!

 


 

 

 

renaud_0

 

@soph.renaud

Étudier en français ou même le français en général est très important pour moi parce que ça me donne un sens d’identité. Je suis fière d’être franco-ontarienne et je suis fière de tous les défis que nous avons surmontés comme franco-ontariens (surtout le règlement 17!).

 

 



 

_colton100000_0

 

@colton100000

« On revient toujours à ses premières amours. » Le français était la première langue étrangère que j’ai commencé à apprendre et c’était le premier truc dans ma vie qui me venait facilement. C’est pour ça que je veux soutenir et élever mes compétences linguistiques à l’université d’Ottawa pour les quatre prochaines années en étudiant Didactique du français langue seconde.

 


 

 

_caitrd_

 

@caitrd_

C’est important, car ça nous ouvre tellement de portes! J’ai pu parler en français pendant mes voyages, et le bilinguisme m’a décidément donné un avantage dans mes recherches d’emploi. J’en suis à ma dernière année à la Faculté d’éducation – avec le français comme matière d’enseignement, les occasions qui s’offrent à moi sont infinies! J’adore pouvoir tisser des liens et communiquer avec les francophones du monde entier.

 

 


 

_rebecca_martin07

 

@rebecca_martin07

Parce que le Canada est un pays bilingue! Apprendre le français est un privilège et un atout, et c’est amusant!

 

 


 


 

@chantalprouse

 

@chantalprouse

Il était important pour moi de continuer à étudier en français parce que ma mère, qui est francophone, tenait énormément à ce que j’apprenne la langue. Elle s’est assurée de m’inscrire à des écoles françaises pour m’ouvrir des portes et me permettre de communiquer avec ma famille acadienne. Je suis fière de dire à ma famille que même à l’université, je peux étudier en français sans avoir à quitter l’Ontario.

 


 

 

@davidnku

 

@davidnku

En tant qu’étudiant international je ne savais parler qu’en français. Et l’université d’Ottawa avait la réputation d’être l’une des seules grandes universités à être bilingue.

 

 

 


 

_itshns

 

@itshns

J’accorde beaucoup d’importance à l’apprentissage du français, car je tiens à pouvoir comprendre et parler les deux langues officielles de mon pays. Maîtriser le français m’aidera dans mon cheminement professionnel. Et lorsque j’irai en France, en Suisse, au Luxembourg, et même au Québec, je serai aussi en mesure de communiquer avec les gens du coin.

 

 


 

_michdolla

 

@michdolla

J’étudie en ergothérapie aux cycles supérieurs. Je suis anglophone originaire de Montréal, et j’ai choisi l’Université d’Ottawa pour me lancer un défi personnel, mais aussi pour m’assurer d’un jour pouvoir traiter mes clients dans la langue de leur choix. Que je choisisse de m’établir à Montréal ou à Ottawa pour le travail, le bilinguisme m’aidera non seulement à accéder à un maximum de possibilités, mais aussi à communiquer avec mes clients dans leur langue.

 



 

_tristanlamonica

 

@Tristanlamonica

Étudier en français à l’Université d’Ottawa m’offre non seulement un avantage concurrentiel dans le monde du travail, mais m’aide aussi à perfectionner mes habiletés en lecture et en rédaction dans les deux langues officielles. Ça me permet également de renforcer mon sentiment d’appartenance à la communauté francophone!

 


 

 

_rxseyyy

 

@rxseyyy

Je suis originaire de Montréal et ma langue maternelle est le français. Pour moi mon bilinguisme est ma plus grande fierté. J’ai toujours voulu étudier dans une autre ville que ma ville natale et en sachant qu’à OttawaU je pouvais étudier dans mes deux langues, mon choix a immédiatement été fait. Surtout que mon programme d’étude (nutrition) s’offre seulement en français. J’adore vivre dans un environnement anglophone (et principalement bilingue).


 


 

_saif_elh

 

@saif_elh

En tant que langue seconde, le français m’ouvre plus de portes sur le plan professionnel et m’amène à me faire de nouveaux amis qui parlent aussi cette langue!

 

 

 


 

_stevesangwa

 

@stevesangwa

Parce que c’est une langue à la fois romantique et d’importance historique.

Top 5 Avantages d'étudier dans une langue seconde TFO

Why FI

Haut de page